Congratulations to our volunteer award winners

Our first ever volunteer awards scheme launched in June, to celebrate the achievements of Parkinson's UK volunteers. We're pleased to share the full list of winners - congratulations to all.


As Parkinson's UK volunteers, you're part of everything we do. You've supported breakthroughs in research, set up thousands of activities in local communities, and campaigned to save Parkinson's nurses - embodying the Parkinson's UK values every step of the way.

More than 200 incredible volunteers were nominated for an award, with around 70 given out. 

Whilst we couldn’t share every story submitted through the awards, the names of every winner is below. For many of the winners, and like so many Parkinson's UK volunteers, they're volunteering in multiple roles across the charity, so the primary role the nomination mentions is what we have shared. We are still sending out the awards, so if your nominee hasn't received theirs yet, they will by the end of the year.

Continue past the list of names to read the stories of some of the winners too, with more to be shared throughout 2020.

Alan Rowlands - photographer Alan Cameron - research Andy Clark - cafe coordinator
David Foster - chair Barrie Smith - speaker Anne Ferret - research
Christine Hutchinson - education Carroll Siu - research Anthony Bowyer - treasurer
David Little - local development team David Wilson - local development team Deirdre Duncan - event champion
David Logan - chair Diane Porter - education Diane Murray - support group coordinator
Dick Coldwell - recruitment Doreen Arkle - support group Dr Tim King - research
Eddie Kerr - membership secretary Edna Nealon - membership secretary Eirwen Malin - Live Loud!
Elaine Evans - support group coordinator Elizabeth Burley - younger person's group Elizabeth Ovenden - chair
Fiona Donald - support group coordinator Frances Oates - secretary  Janet Kerr - young persons organiser 
Jenni McCabe - committee volunteer Jenny Walters - support group organiser John Amphlet - chair
John Whipps - research John Birmingham - cafe coordinator John Kane - education
Julie Jones - research John Pilkington - treasurer Alan McMichael - secretary
Kay Eggleton - secretary Lesley Gosden - research Lionel Paulo - research
Mandy Howells - fundraising Marc Van Grieken - research Mark Hoar - speaker
Marnie Marshall - support group coordinator Matthew Sullivan - research Mike Powell - first steps
Myfanwy Jones - support group Myra Clare - committee member Omotola Thomas - younger persons alliance
Paul Burns - research Paula Scurfield - research Ray Cooper - cafe coordinator
Renee Dickinson - committee member Roger Harrison - LIFT exercise instructor Roz Bonnar - photographer
Ruth Brinkler-Long - chair Stuart Banks - committee member Stuart Smith - group coordinator 
Sue Whipps - research Timothy Lees - support group coordinator Val Evans - support group coordinator 
Pam Coxwell - finance lead Vincent Mobey - cafe coordinator Susan Randall - chair 
Julie Jones - support group coordinator John Lawton - chair Eric Corcoran - committee volunteer


An 'ode' to Anne

A flair for creativity and a passion for keeping the experiences of people with Parkinson's at the heart of research secured Anne's win. Read more about Anne, including a poem about the awards.

David's driven to make a difference

Driven to get Parkinson's understood, David is a real ambassador for Parkinson's UK, coming up with ideas to improve our work UK wide too. 

Putting values into action

Truly people-first, Frances is always looking for new ideas to make life a little bit better for people affected by Parkinson's in Christchurch.

Transforming Parkinson's care

Volunteer educator Christine goes the extra mile to ensure care home staff are informed about Parkinson's, able to offer up quality care to those who need it.