Back to top

Self-management programme - A path through Parkinson's

A path through Parkinson's is a self-management programme designed to help you navigate your life with Parkinson's.

Our self-management groups are for people with Parkinson's, partners and carers.

It's free to attend, but you have to book your place in advance.

I feel as though I'm more in control, I can see a future.

Pat, whose husband has Parkinson's

Each self-management group is led by trained volunteer facilitators with first-hand experience of Parkinson's. Meet our volunteers.

The aim is to share experiences and discuss the practical and emotional impact of Parkinson’s. Find out more about the programme.

The programme offers a time-limited, structured and facilitated chance to talk through some of the bigger questions about life with the condition. In this way it differs from the really valuable support provided by our branches and local support groups.

Register for an event

What are the benefits?

People tell us that as a result of attending they feel:

  • armed with information and knowledge
  • more confident, positive, in control and able to move forward
  • less alone as a result of meeting others

Participants also say they gain:

  • greater self-awareness and insight
  • a personal action plan for doing specific things such as exercise, hobbies and therapeutic activities
  • improved speech as a result of talking in the group

The groups - spring 2017

Groups are running in the following places throughout spring 2017:

Location Duration Start date End date Time
Derby 6 weeks Wednesday 26 April Wednesday 31 May 10.30am-1pm
Leeds 6 weeks Thursday 27 April Thursday 1 June 1pm-3.30pm
Edinburgh 6 weeks Tuesday 2 May Tuesday 6 June 1pm-3.30pm
St Albans 6 weeks Wednesday 3 May Wednesday 7 June 1pm-3.30pm
Glasgow 6 weeks Thursday 4 May Thursday 8 June 1pm-3.30pm
Cardiff 6 weeks Wednesday 10 May Wednesday 14 June 10.30am-1pm
Crawley 3 weeks Wednesday 10 May Wednesday 24 May 10.30am-3.30pm
Sheffield 6 weeks Thursday 11 May Thursday 15 June 10.30am-1pm
Chichester 3 weeks Wednesday 17 May Wednesday 31 May 10.30am-3.30pm
Basingstoke 6 weeks Wednesday 17 May Wednesday 21 June 1pm-3.30pm
Worthing 6 weeks Friday 19 May Friday 23 June 10.30am-1pm
Newcastle 6 weeks expected w/c 22 May expected w/c 26 June TBC
Carlisle 6 weeks expected w/c 22 May expected w/c 26 June TBC
Sunderland 6 weeks expected w/c 22 May expected w/c 26 June TBC


Any questions?

If you have any questions, want to find out more or want to talk about whether our self-management groups would be right for you, you can: