How to decide whether to stop working

I got diagnosed almost 3 years ago and have a trembling left hand that doesn't move when I want it to but still works on its own, my voice is getting indistinct, especially to my wife, typing is problematic, my face has lost expression and I walk with a stagger and occasionally freeze when trying to take my wallet out of my pocket. All par for the course and not too debilitating.

It's the other stuff that's the problem, I am a teacher at an elite school teaching very demanding teenagers. I simply cannot stand up in front of then anymore. When they ask me questions my mind goes blank and I blurt out some unintelligible nonsense. it was this sort of thing that made me realise I was ill in the first place. I am a very well respected teacher, I write text books, I'm turning into a blithering idiot, worse I'm becoming invisible.

When I got diagnosed I realised I couldn't teach from the front any longer so I wrote activities so that my students could work through the course with me as a guide. Took me about 4 hours of prep for each hour of class time. It works really well in that it engages the students but I have written myself out of the equation. I go to work sit in my room, students come in and go out but sometimes I don't say a word. The students do well in the exam but I am beside myself with boredom. I try to do the odd bit at the board but it doesn't go well. The other day I was talking to the class and realised no one was looking at me so I just shut up.

My employer is extremely supportive but no one has actually been in to my class to see what is happening. Physically I could keep doing this until I die but psychologically I'm not coping. I am getting nothing out of my job and my students aren't benefiting from my presence either.