Trichloroethylene exposure

I have recently come across some information about using this solvent called trichloroethylene recent research has suggested that exposure can make us 6 times more likely of developing Parkinson's disease. At the moment I am looking into a law suite against my former employers if anyone else has worked with this solvent generally used as a degreaser please can you let me know.

Many thanks bb xx

When I was a student I had a job in an electroplating unit in a factory. There was a big degreasing tank in the unit, but I didn’t spend a significant time in proximity to it as far as I can remember, perhaps a couple of weeks when  shifted jobs temporarily. That was three quarters filled with trichloroethylene, above the liquid level was a dense cloud. It’s hard to believe, but a workmate with long hair, but short on intellect used to degrease his hair by tipping his head forward into that dense cloud. It worked, too. I’ve no idea what his health has been like since - probably died of liver cancer after doing that. In those days health and safety wasn’t like it is today, which I’m sure is the basis of your claim.

I only did that job for two summers, so I don’t think my exposure could have been significant, though I was exposed to copper and nickel solutions.

My exposure was controlled and in a environment where the fumes we drawn away but I still have pd makes me wonder now this chemical is carcinogenic so anything is possible. They should have banned it as soon as they realised how dangerous banning it 5 years ago maybe too late for some.

BB

I also used trich ( brake cleaner ) over many years in my engineering career, using it to degrease components then blow it all off with an compressed airline, it was the done thing years ago,think they changed the formula years back as it was said to be harmful , how right they were!! 

Thanks sky I will update this post so you can see whether or not I have a case against them.

Best wishes BB XX