Singing, movement and rhythms

In January I'm going for a top=up to the training I've received for running singing groups for people with Parkinsons together with their carers and relatives. My father died last March and I've been running a group in the home in which he lived in Malvern, Not only is it great fun - we do a lot of laughing! - but some very exciting research is showing there are improvements in movement and an increase in brain plasticity. I've been a singing teacher and a performer for many years, and this new direction is very exciting. I'm proud of the fact that I can do something which is helping to improve people's lives - even though it was too late for my father by the time he was diagnosed.

Hi singerwood, that's a great thing you are doing there, and more to the point the fact that you are getting satisfaction from helping others out.

Malvern is a lovely area, we have been to the showground at Malvern Links with the caravan on many occasions and climbed the hills, that was a little while ago now, but it's a place I'll never forget.

Keep up the good work and thank you - Sheila

My partner has PD and finds singing great therapy. We are both regulars at our local pub's karaoke night. Karaoke has a traditional of being light hearted and yet can mean a lot to those that take part. Being part of our local community pub has also allowed people to see what PD is like and has led to greater acceptance within our community. So I would encourage anyone regardless of talent to find a way to sing in anyway they feel comfortable. Good to hear about groups being set up.