Disclosing Parkinson's to potential employers

Hi

I'm thinking of adding a note to the front of my c.v. to let potential employers know that I have Parkinson's and that as such I would need some extra leeway and concessions when it comes to my working day.

I currently work as a contractor through my own limited company (so technically I employ myself). I contract my services to a construction company who know about my condition and are not strict on what time I have to be in the office or how many hours I have to do a week. They are also very understanding and let me have loads of time off for appointments etc. As long as the work is done they are not too bothered about anything.

I have worked for some companies in the past who are more strict and who do want a minimum number of hours out of you per week and frankly I am past pandering to these conditions now with my condition. Employment has to be more on my terms now.

As a contractor I guess I need to negotiate the terms in my favour more. Where as in the past I have just gone along with what the client wanted.

Has anyone else done something similar re the adding a note detailing your condition and also some terms of employment?

Hi John, thanks for posting. Hopefully someone will be along soon to share their experience. Can anyone help John with this?

In the meantime, we have a free booklet about employment and Parkinson's. It's mainly aimed at people who work for an employer, but there may be some other useful information in there. You can find that, with other information about working when you have Parkinson's, at www.parkinsons.org.uk/workandmoney

Hope this helps.

Sharon

Hi John